Water not growing?

Discussion in 'Monitors & Tegus' started by Chi_Monitors1317, Mar 7, 2007.

1. Chi_Monitors1317

Chi_Monitors1317 New Member

Hello and Thank You for looking at my post.
    I have had a water monitor for about 10 months now. I bought him as a new hatchling. My water is about 26 inches from head to tail, Is this normal or should it be longer? Here are the questions I have about my water. How do I find out its sex. How long does it take for its hemipenes to release if it is a male? What are some signs of it being a female? Could it be because its housed in a 75 gallon tank that it is only 26 inches long? Which I will be setting my water up in a 240 gallon tank on march 17th that I just ordered from glasscages.com it is 96x24x25 witch will be fine for maybe a year or so. Is it possible to stunt there growth because he or she was in the 75 gallon for 10 months? Witch I dont want to happen!!! I have been walking it around in a monitor harness for about 3 months now. Will I be able to walk my water around when he /she is full grown? My water is super tame. I have put a lot of patience and time taming him/her. I will post some pictures of my enclosure for my water and I will have pics of my water for all viewers to enjoy. Tell me what you think of my monitor. Over all I love working with monitors they are wonderful hope you have fun with yours! If you have any pics of yours especially adult water monitors please show me? I have been dying to see one!! Thank You Much!!!!!

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Chi_Monitors1317

Also my water is a great eater I now feed it 2 dozen crickets a week along with 2 large mice. Should I feed my water more?

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. PitsNherps

PitsNherps Well-Known Member

I dont really have any experince with water monitors but your monitor is way to big for the tank its in!That might be the problem why its not growing because it has no room!