Room temp - true?

Discussion in 'Rhacodactylus (Crested) Geckos' started by Belletair, Dec 28, 2009.

1. Belletair

Belletair New Member

Let me start off by saying... I'm kinda stupid. I was recommended to check out the Rhacodactylus geckos (by JEFFREH), and I was going... "weird name, never heard of them or seen them before".

And then I found out a Rhacodactylus is a crested gecko. And I felt stupid. >_< XD

Anyway, I started looking into them and found... well, I really like what I'm seeing. They don't look killing hard to maintain (I'm extremely new to lizards, have only had some anoles way back when), and throw in they have some wicked beautiful patterns and I'm really thinking about getting one (or more).

One thing I'm wondering though, is it true they are Okay at room temps? I find that interesting, as most herps tend to need a heat source. Then again, I'm a snake guy not a lizard guy...

Thanks guys.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

Welcome to the lizard world Belletair! Haha =)

What your seeing is true, Crested Geckos (and all Rhacs for that matter) thrive at your typical room temp. In fact, too much heat is a bigger problem than not enough. Generally you want ambient cage temps between 70-78 degrees F, and you definitely don't want ambient temp to be above 85 degrees F without a cooler area to retreat to because these guys stress in temps that are too warm. I know of some breeders in Cali and other areas that maintain their colonies outside and have noted that they perform very well even with evening dips into the 50's (even 40's) as long as the temps can warm back up during the day. They hail from an area that keeps a relatively constant temperature, and being in the rain forest type of habitat they are protected from extreme heat/conditions by the dense forest.