New To Snakes

Discussion in 'General Snakes' started by SnakeMan101, Jul 6, 2005.

1. SnakeMan101

SnakeMan101 New Member

i am fairly new to snakes having only owned a couple of garters that i caught myself. i was looking into buying a snake and was wondering what is a good idea for beginners, i would also like something affordable, tame, and fairly hardy. Some species i have heard include Cornsnakes, Kingsnakes, and a couple different boas. i would like any and all suggestions regarding which species is best. also i would like to know if i purchase the forementioned snake what size terrarium, what kind of substrate, what they eat, etc... thank you to all who post.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. liza714

liza714 Member

How about an Amazon Tree Boa or a Retic? JKJK I think a mod should move this to general snakes but corns are very forgiving of hiusbandry issues common to newbies. Personally they freak me out as they look like pretty earth worms, I like the boas and pythons as they have a cooler looking head. Children's python is a nice snake to start with and if you get a good eater they can be easy. Rosy boas stay somewhat small. Id avoid the larger snakes until you get some more experience. A CP can go in a 20 gal tank as an adult as they max out at 3ft. A rosy needs a somewhat bigger enclosure but not much. Good luck.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Janice

Janice ReptileBoards Addict

I will go ahead and move this to general snakes, thank you Liza!

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. coolfool

coolfool New Member

well i sugest a ball python and a normal one wont cost you much i gust got mine and it a male and it will probly will be around 4 FT when its full grown and a female tend to be a bit biger and abought 5 to 5 1/2 FT