Need Help With UTH! Getting corn snake :]

Discussion in 'Corns & Rat Snakes' started by XBellaxMuerteX, Jan 17, 2010.

1. XBellaxMuerteX

XBellaxMuerteX Embryo

OKie Dokie.
    So im going to be getting a beautiful corn snake :)
    BUT I dont feel like spending a crap ton of money on a tank.
    So people are saying the big plastic tubs at target walmart etc.
    Now i want to get a UTH at the petstore but im not sure how i should set it up under the tub..
    I read something about glass? Now i dont think it would burn the plastic right? i just need to know EVERYTHING there is to know about this UTH..

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. LittleLouie

LittleLouie Well-Known Member

I'm not a cornsnake expert . . . most of my reptile experience has been leopard geckos. However, I'll tell what I know about general tank set-ups and heating.

The uth can get very hot, so it should probably be controlled with either a rheostat (dimmer switch) or else with a thermostat. If kept properly under control, the uth should never get hot enough to burn your snake or melt plastic, so it should be fine to set it up underneath the tub. Just be sure that you have a good accurate thermometer (for leos, we suggest the digital thermometer with a probe or temp gun) and set the temperature with the thermostat or rheostat. Then, check temperatures regularly to make sure that the thermostat probe has not been moved around and the room temps have not been dipping or soaring.

Welcome to the forum, and be sure to check out the cornsnake forum for advice from our cornsnake lovers :)

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Shanna66

Shanna66 Well-Known Member