What happens if you breed 2 dragons from the same clutch?

Discussion in 'Bearded Dragons' started by dunk, May 10, 2005.

1. dunk

dunk Embryo

What happens if you breed 2 dragons from the same clutch? I'm completely new to the bearded dragon world. My kids each want a baby dragon....I'll be taking care of them of course. If I get 2 from the same clutch and they turn out to be 1 male and 1 female....can I breed them at some point?

Thanks

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. cirtus

cirtus Embryo

No you don't want to breed them. This is called inbreeding and it can have huge birth defects on the babys. The babies will be weak and may not live a normal life. And if you did breed them and sell them to people they would have an inbreed dragon then if they breed the dragon you sold them their babies would have week genes.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. intoxicatdkizz

intoxicatdkizz Embryo

um thas called insest.. it goes for animals too lolz

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. dunk

dunk Embryo

OK, thanks for the quick reply.

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. kephy

kephy Moderator

If you get two dragons, whether they are from the same clutch or not you need to plan on keeping them in seperate enclosures. Not only will it greatly reduce stress on them, but it will eliminate many potential problems no matter what sex they turn out to be. It's just better for them in the long run to keep them in solitary enclosures.

And of course I agree with the others, inbreeding is a huge no-no.

10. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

11. ecko_996

ecko_996 New Member

The bearded dragon geene pool is far too shallow at this point as is please no inbreeding. And if you do get two drangons from different blood lines and house properly (seperatly) until they are at a safe age to breed please do your reasearch which by the way it looks you have already started excellent!

Bradon

12. liza714

liza714 Embryo