Uromastyx Pregnant?

Discussion in 'Uromastyx' started by treyclash13, Mar 24, 2009.

1. treyclash13

treyclash13 New Member

Hello everyone. I am new to reptiles and this forum. Just recently i bought 2 mali uromastyx. i bought them 3 weeks ago. i only planned on getting one but they looked soo in love i had to get them both... soo... 3 days later i notice him biting her neck and back and her not caring or doing anything about it. so i look it up... yep its breeding time and that means she is rdy to mate... ohh goody 40 baby lizards running around. dont take my sarcasm outa context though lol cause i am very excited and happy. well anywayz.... today i noticer her being alot fatter then usual... and sure enough is a sign of pregnancy. she is very lazy she alwayz had the male right beside her and burrowns all the way to the bottom of the tank. so today i wen and got more sand added 2 layers so just incase she can burrow deeper. i feel rlly bad cause i just added it and she is asleep and the male isnt yet so i pulled her out added sand and a new burrow thing and set her down half asleep and set her little hut over her. hopefully i didnt hurt her messing with her whiole she was asleep or stress her or anything. but maybe tomorrow she wil burrow deeper. so what do i do. how do i kno for sure if she is pregnant and if she is what do i do to prepare? also read they may stop eating and die so i hand feed her lima beans to make sure she is eating.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. bruno

bruno Moderator

Hello,
    Welcome to the forum and uro's.

My first question is....How old is she?
    They do not reach maturity till they are 3 Years old, if she is less than that, be prepared for vet visits and bills, she may have problems during and after laying, assuming she is pregnant.

If you will answer the following questions accurately then we may be able to help you.
    What size is tank?