Skinny Bloated Leopard Gecko (Blizzard)

Discussion in 'Leopard Geckos' started by Thrill, Nov 12, 2005.

1. Thrill

Thrill New Member

Please could someone help me to try and work out what is wrong with my gecko!!!!!!

Ive had her for about 3wks and had to take her back to my reptile dealer just 1wk after getting her as she kept regurgitating her food. She looks at her food, but thats about it. My dealer has tried to force feed her but she is still bringing up food. Then he decided she was dehydrated so he soaked her in water, then decided she had some kind of blockage.

She has a really skinny tail, and i dont know what it could be as im new to geckos. She looks hungry but just cant be bothered. She has a bloated tummy and has only passed a little poop in water.

At the moment she is in the capable hands of my vets who are tube feeding her. They think it may be worms but so they are going to worm her.

Ive been keeping her on paper towel as she is only about 3-4mnths old.

Any ideas as im really worried?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. shrap

shrap ReptileBoards Addict

I would just stay in contact with your vet. We are not going to be able to tell you more than your vet will, but yes it sounds like worms.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. shane45_1911

shane45_1911 New Member

Yep - sounds like parasites, or possibly impaction.

Let the vet do his thing. Good luck.

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. Thrill

Thrill New Member

Ok thanks.

Just wandering though, how could it be impaction if ive only kept her on paper? I know my reptile dealer kept her on bark while he was looking after her as he said she would be fine on it as her breeder kept her on it.

Hopefully it is only worms and not impaction!!

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. shrap

shrap ReptileBoards Addict