Safe paints and sealants for a double enclosure.

Discussion in 'Enclosures, Heating & Lighting' started by DR, Feb 4, 2004.

1. DR

DR Embryo

I've already planned out a double enclosure using 3/4" 4'x8' marine plywood and cabinet firring strips with sliding glass frontage, etc... 6' high x 5' wide x 2' deep. It will be relatively easy to build, as I am a welder/fabricator by trade (though I now sit in an office). My biggest concerns were heat issues from the IR heat emitters (which has been successfully resolved by using stand-offs), and what to seal and paint the wood with. It has to be able to withstand 90 degree temps without releasing dangerous fumes or cracking, as well as 40% - 70% humidity without adverse affect, and not cause problems to the snakes health. If anyone knows of, or has used any sealers or paints that can safely be used for my intended purpose, please let me know. TIA, Dann

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Axe

Axe Well-Known Member

A water-based polyurethane should be good, although you'll probably need several coats of it. You might want to wander down to home depot and see what they suggest. Something that's good in kitchens could be ok - most kitchen counters are exposed to pretty high temperatures with hot pans being placed on them, steam from kettles, pans of boiling fluids, spillage, etc., and of course, it would have to be non-toxic if food is to be prepared there. So that might be a good bet.

Keep us posted on how you go with development of this, and feel free to post pics of its construction if you like :(

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. DR

DR Embryo

Thanks John. I'm not a super duper computer guy, but I do have a digital camera. If I were to e-mail pics to you, could you post them? I should have the time and money in about a week to begin. I need to make sure I have all the problems identified and worked out prior to beginning, and that was the last big one.

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. lacerta