new BP owner!

Discussion in 'Enclosures, Heating & Lighting' started by heather h, Oct 4, 2012.

1. heather h

heather h New Member

hi guys! my name is heather, i'm a brand new ball python owner. picked her up at the sacramento reptile show last sunday. i'm pretty new to the whole herp thing - owned a small corn for half a minute many years ago, but that's the extent of my experience.

right now i have her in a 40 gallon tank with a UTH from reptitherm, the larger size. i'm hitting the right humidity in the tank (i think, sitting right above 50), but the warm side is at a temperature of 75, which is obviously cooler than i'd like. i have a supplemental lamp with a basking spot lamp of 100w. should i add that to the warm side to bring up the temp? it seems like the darn thing gets so warm. can i leave it on during the day without fear of fire if i'm not home? would wrapping the sides/back of the tank in a background help bring temps up?

attached a couple of pics of the tank setup as well as calpurnia herself, who is gorgeous if i must say. thanks for the help!

tank 1.jpg

2.jpg

curious cal.jpg

8333ed300b6411e2957722000a1e9dcb_7.jpeg

JEFFREH likes this.
  2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. supernova

supernova Member