Hi, newbie here

Discussion in 'General Lizards' started by EmilyH, Apr 15, 2004.

1. EmilyH

EmilyH New Member

Hello. I'm thinking about getting a lizard. What type of lizards are easiest to care for? Also, I've done some internet research and I'm a little bit confused. Are any of the commercially available substrates safe to use for geckos or not, and if so, which ones? I bought Calci-Sand, but threw it out after finding out that it was harmful. Any advice on choosing a gecko?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. efeckz

efeckz Embryo

Leo's are deemed the "easy reptile" to own, I have 2 myself, I use Repti-carpet. I dont think I'll use sand for a while, maybe in about 6 months or so.. :) when choosing look for:
    spots on stomach (normally this is a sign of impactation, or something else that would make anyone want to stay clear of that gecko.)
    enflamed eye: you just dont want it... make sure his/her eyes are completly black.
    Tail: if it's fallen off, you'll know. It'll never be as good looking as the original, I'd say dont get it, unless you REALLY want it. Also make sure it doesnt look dehydrated
    Inspect the enviroment that it is being housed at where you buy it (if not online)
    it could be housed wrong, make sure that the place your getting it from houses it with its own species, if not turn around and go somewhere else as the leo could be stressed enough to never eat again, and eventually starve him/herself.
    There are other things to look for, I just can think of them off the top of my head :

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. EmilyH

EmilyH New Member