GTP FEEDING

Discussion in 'Other Pythons' started by ZGANGNUPE, Nov 16, 2012.

1. ZGANGNUPE

ZGANGNUPE Embryo

Hello, I'm new to this chat site,but I have a question. I just got a new biak and he hasn't eaten in a month.
    Temp,is right,misting,refreshing water daily, enclosure is not too big and he is not losing weight. I keep trying w ft fuzzies,size appropriate at the time. Any suggestions or tips? Thanks

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. StikyPaws312

StikyPaws312 Moderator

Hm.... are you feeding him in his tank or in a separate enclosure? Have you tried live? And one last question... did you contact the breeder that you purchased him or her from and ask them when the last time they ate was and what exactly it was that they did eat?

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. ZGANGNUPE

ZGANGNUPE Embryo

I've been trying in his tank,no live,yes the breeder sent feeding and shed info,he stated he fed live,but I don't feed any of my snakes live.
    I'll,try another enclosure. Thanks

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

Try picking up some used bedding from a rodent enclosure at the pet store - the employee will probably give you a funny look but if you can get a plastic bag of soiled rat or mouse bedding you can provide chemical cues lost in the already killed and frozen rodents.

When I thaw rodents, I place them in the fridge overnight then allow them to come to room temperature. Roll the rodent around in the soiled/used rat bedding that you picked up from the store and let both the rat and bedding sit near the snake bin for an hour or two to get the smell of the prey in the air and get the snake into feeding mode.