First time with the chirpers...

Discussion in 'Feeder Forum' started by Panther_Shadow83, Aug 22, 2004.

1. Panther_Shadow83

Panther_Shadow83 Embryo

This is my first time that I will be raising crickets, and I have a couple of questions...

1. I'm keeping them in a 'Kricket Keeper,' which has four tubes that they can hide in and the tubes can be removed for feeding. These crickets won't make my room stink, will they? If they will, any ideas on how to stop the smell...?

2. Are crickets generally easy to raise? I've seen things at pet store called 'cricket bites,' and you just put a couple in the feeder and it supplies them with necessary food and water. Is it a good idea to use these?

3. How long do crickets (about half-inch long ones) generally live for, and how many should I keep at a time? My mom will literally kill me if we have to drive to the pet store once a week to buy more crickets... and taking my bike is out of the question, because it'll be winter when I get my anole (and crickets), and either way, the Pet Store is in the next town over.

Thanks to all who reply.

~Jessica :wink:

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. joe5555

joe5555 Member

most people say there cricket containers stink but mine have never smelled. As long as you have good ventilation. I feed mine lots of veges like carrots, lettuce, along with fish flakes and cricket food in those bags. when a cricket is born they usually last about 5-6 weeks. one half an inche is about an 2-3 week old cricket. how big is your cricket keeper.i had about 1000 hatchlings in my 10 gallon until they were 4weeks old never smelled even with poor ventilation.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Panther_Shadow83

Panther_Shadow83 Embryo

Hmm I think it's a one or two gallon keeper, it claims it can hold up to 150 crickets.

~Jessica

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. herpslave

herpslave Member