Does he not like me?

Discussion in 'Other Colubrids' started by kazmar, Apr 3, 2008.

1. kazmar

kazmar New Member

I just got a baby grey-banded kingsnake, and I've taken him out several times. I'm new to the snake thing, but don't snakes musk to "claim" you as theirs? My snake hasn't musked since we got him. Do some snakes just not musk, or is it because he's not ready to claim me as his owner?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. jwurm

jwurm New Member

I've always heard that they musk as a defense mechanism when they are uncomfortable or startled...

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. bodom85

bodom85 Member

Musking is a defense mechanism. Its a good think he didn't, it smells and its almost like pooping on you. As far as reptiles liking you, I don't know if I believe they ever "like" you as much as they learn to tolerate you. They learn that you are not a threat and you bring them food and water. I believe you can create a bond with a snake as well but not quite a bond like you'd get with a cat or dog. Given the choice, I don't think a snake would ever choose to come to you of its own accored. A dog will come when called but I don't think a snake would. They are pretty solitary by nature. I have read papers and have seen thinks in my own collection to prove that they aren't all as solitary as people think. But yes I think tolerance towards humans and making a bond like that is as close as you can get towards love. That doesn't mean that you shouldn't love it though.

fyreflyx likes this.
  6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. alexanddusk

alexanddusk Embryo

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. Dave Bergerson

Dave Bergerson Embryo