Cricket Diet

Discussion in 'Feeder Forum' started by Little Gecko Face, Aug 20, 2013.

1. Little Gecko Face

Little Gecko Face Embryo

So this may be a little strange, but it's my only thought so far... I have been feeding my crickets that orange Fluker's stuff, but it made them smell sooooo bad. I read on some forums that changing the crickets' diet would help with the smell (it did!) - I put some potato in the feeder a few days ago. However, last night, my leopard gecko wouldn't eat any crickets - that has NEVER happened before in all of his 3 1/2 years. Everything is normal - temps, water, hides, tank size, etc., and my only thought was that the crickets may smell different because of the new food. Has this happened to anyone else? He absolutely refuses to eat them.

Thanks so much - I'm still a newbie : ) I inherited my little guy about 3 months ago, but I was peripherally involved with him for the last 2 1/2 years.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Little Gecko Face

Little Gecko Face Embryo

Ok, not sure if anyone is reading this, but I was able to feed him some crickets late last night without incident. No idea what the other night was about... Anyways, if anyone has had the same experience with cricket diet, I'd still like to hear about it : )

thanks!

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

Welcome to the forum = )

It looks like you resolved your own problem! I apologize in our delay responding to you... things have been pretty hectic for me lately.

I've never heard of 'gutload' (what you feed the feeder insects) influencing whether or not the reptile will eat them. It may have been a fluke, or perhaps just a picky little leo. For future reference, I've never been all that partial to the commercial gutloads and products by Fluker Farms... you can create a much healthier alternative gutload from scratch for a lower cost using simple items.