advice with leopard ghecko's & bosc monitor lizard pleas

Discussion in 'Enclosures, Heating & Lighting' started by shanghikid, May 25, 2005.

1. shanghikid

shanghikid Embryo

hi guy's would just like to say what a great and helpful site this is .right i'm new to all this stuff and want to do my best for my pets i have just got a couple of ghecko lizard's both female ( i think ) and have getting a bosc monitor lizard which is 25" from head to tail which came with the setup in the photo's and have since added ghecko's to top shelf ..

question is the setup i have ok have a heatpad in top for ghecko's under thermostat light at top has green bulb in it , has wood chips on floor ,2 rock hide's for them to hide in ...temperature average's 80 , has water bowl in middle is this setup ok or what else do i need (i know i need a moist hide which i will be getting )

bosc monitor has a 250 watt heatlamp with thermostat control at side which is set at 88 - 92 and a 20 watt uvb light also wood chips on the floor and water bowl at front of tank , monitor is shedding is there anything i can do to help it along..

http://uk.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/shanghiki...m/ph//my_photos

photo's now working

all help will be gratefully received thank you in advance...

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Jhoss22

Jhoss22 Member

Get your leopard gecko off the wood chips or you that leo will get impacted. Safe substartes include reptil carpet, slate tiles, papertowels, and cork shelf liners. Loss substrates are respnosible for impactions. Otehr then that I would use a red bulb which can be used all the time to allow you to view your leo all the time without bothering it. I don't know about moniters so I can't be of much help.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Spot

Spot ReptileBoards Addict

I 'm not familiar with monitor husbandry, but Jhoss has it right about the leo stuff.
    To get a good overview of how to care for a leopard gecko, check out this site
    www.goldengategeckos.com