adding height to a tank

Discussion in 'Enclosures, Heating & Lighting' started by meandmyarrow, May 8, 2010.

1. meandmyarrow

meandmyarrow New Member

Howdy,

What would be the best way to add height to our 20L to better accomodate a climber? I am not very good at construction and I want it to be safe and sturdy.

Thanks for any ideas.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Ryan1990

Ryan1990 Well-Known Member

Hmm.. I just wrote a reply to this and then RR's decided to log me out meaning it didn't send lol.

Any way, to the topic. The only way I can think of doing it is by adding extra height using mesh. It can be attached to the glass using silicone and secured at the top using a wooden frame/lid. It would have to be fairly thick wired sturdy mesh (or stretched over a sturdy frame if using material mesh). This won't hold heat and humidity well so will decrease your choice of what you can put in the tank. Other than that it is possible to pop the bottom out of another tank of the same length and width and using silicone, attach them top to bottom. However this isn't easy and has to be done well to be safe and secure.
    It may be easier and cheaper to buy a new tank, what is it you have in mind to put in it?

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. meandmyarrow

meandmyarrow New Member

Thanks Ryan. We got a crestie :D . We put alot of climbing stuff in there and he seems content and roams alot on the floor as well, but I'd like to give him more actual height since he climbs the glass the most. I read where I could stand it up in it's side but then he has like no floor space.